CORE Establishes Railway Electrification Project Unit in Bengaluru

Share with your network

Central Organisation for Railway Electrification (CORE) has established Railway Electrification Project unit at Bengaluru headed by Chief Project Director, Railway electrification Bengaluru. The following rail routes sections shall be electrified by this unit:

SL Section Total Route KM Railway
1. Kadur – Chikmaglur 46 SWR
2. Hosppete – Swamihalli 59 SWR
3. Bangarapet – Yelahanka 149 SWR
4. Birur – Talaguppa 161 SWR
5. Chikbanavar – Hassan 166 SWR
6. Mysuru – Chamarajanagar 61 SWR
7. Mysuru – Hassan – Mangaluru including Hassan – Arsikere 347 SWR
8. Miraj – Kurduwadi Latur 377 CR
9. Gadag – Hotgi 284 SWR
10. Chikbanavar – Hubballi 456 SWR
11. Dharamavaram – Pakala 228 SCR
12. Nandyal -Yerraguntla 123 SCR
Total 2457

Shri R.A. Chaudhary, IRSEE (Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers) 1989 batch has joined as Chief Project Director, Railway Electrification Bengaluru. Before this he has worked as Chief Electrical Distribution Engineer, East Coast Railway; Chief Project Director, Railway Electrification, Bhubaneshwar; Sub Urban Railway Manager, Howrah; Deputy Chief Electrical Loco Engineer, Southern Railway etc. He has graduated from NIT Jamshedpur in 1988. 

Setting up of this Railway Electrification Project unit at Bengaluru will expedite execution of above mentioned Railway Electrification Projects by facilitating better co-ordination with concerned offices of Railway & State Government.

This will speed up field works also, as focused attention will now be given to those projects. Target for electrification of 466 RKM within SWR is set for 2019-2020. Balance Electrification works will also be taken up phases and are expected be completed by 2023-2024.

Source: South Western Railway

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.