Delhi Metro to convert all 6-coach trains to 8-coach ones by March 2021

Share with your network

In a bid to accommodate the increasing footfalls, Delhi Metro plans to convert all 6-coach trains to 8-coach ones by March 2021 and press them into service on the Red, Yellow and Blue Lines. Currently, both 6-coach and 8-coach trains operate on these three lines.

More Information:

  • A senior official of Delhi Metro said, “The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited (DMRC) is procuring 120 coaches and the conversion is likely to be completed by March 2021 in a phased manner.”
  • He added, “There are 39 six-coach trains on Red Line (Line 1), there are 12 and 9 six-coach trains on Yellow (Line 2) and Blue Line (Line 3/4), respectively.”
  • The Blue and Yellow Lines are the busiest corridors and mostly have 8-coach trains.
  • However, there are still some of the 6-coach trains left and these will be fully converted into 8-coach train sets.
  • The Red Line, which is the oldest corridor, only has 6-coach trains.
  • In fact, Delhi Metro Red Line had 4-coach trains, which were upgraded to 6-coach sets gradually.
  • DMRC first introduced a 6-coach train on the Delhi Metro Red Line corridor in November 2013.
  • The very first 8-coach train was introduced on the Delhi Metro Blue Line on December 23, 2010, and subsequently 6 coach trains were introduced on Yellow Line from February 6, 2011.
  • Currently, Delhi Metro spans nearly 350 km, having over 250 metro stations and 9 colour-coded lines.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.