Electric-Bicycle Services Further Extended At Metro Stations To Ensure Last Mile Connectivity

Share with your network

After the successful launch of electric-bicycle (e-bicycle) service at seven Metro stations a few months ago, the electric-bicycle (e-bicycle) service was further extended to two more Delhi Metro stations namely Malviya Nagar and Saket today. This service was formally flagged off from Malviya Nagar Metro station by Sh. A. K. Garg, Director/Operations (DMRC) in the presence of other officials from DMRC and the agency providing this facility at these Metro stations.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Garg said, “The specially designed battery operated cycles would be helpful in providing last mile connectivity to its commuters and to decongest the road traffic by propagating environment-friendly modes of transport over personal vehicles. DMRC tries to incorporate eco-friendly initiatives in all its spheres of functioning”.

The e-bicycle service at these two stations is provided by M/s BycyShare Technologies Pvt. Ltd. [ZYPP] and one can avail the facility by downloading their app known as ‘Mobycy Zypp’ and by doing one time registration.  

In September this year, DMRC in association with M/s Yulu Bikes Pvt. Ltd. – a leading mobility partner introduced similar e-bicycle sharing services known as ‘Yulu-Miracle’ at seven Metro stations. The services since then have been extended to 25 Metro stations.  DMRC in association with other private operators is also operating 22 bicycle sharing service stands (through operators) covering 20 stations across its network.

DMRC has also introduced permanent space for bicycle stands at its Metro stations which have provision of dedicated parking lots. At present, this facility is available at 21 parking lots at different stations across Delhi Metro network. DMRC encourages the use of various eco-friendly more of transport to boost last mile connectivity and in recent past have introduced e-rickshaws, e-bikes etc. from various Metro stations.

Source: DMRC

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.