Indian Railways decides to undertake DPRs for new Dedicated Freight corridors

Share with your network

Presently, Ministry of Railways is implementing two Dedicated Freight Corridors namely, Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor from Ludhiana to Dankuni (1856 km.) and Western Dedicated Freight Corridor from Dadri to Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (1504 km.). These corridors are targeted to be completed in phases by December 2021. In addition, Ministry of Railways has decided to undertake Detailed Project Reports (DPR) for new Dedicated Freight corridors on the following routes :

1. East Coast corridor- Kharagpur to Vijayawada

2. East-West Sub-corridor (i) – Bhusaval-Wardha-Nagpur-Rajkharswan-Kharagpur-Uluberia-Dankuni

East-West Sub-corridor (ii) – Rajkharswan-Kalipahari-Andal

3. North – South sub-corridor – Vijayawada- Nagpur-Itarsi

A Concession Agreement has been signed between Ministry of Railways (MOR) and Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India Limited (DFCCIL) on 28th February 2014 which inter alia enjoins DFCCIL to allow authorized Railway users including Indian Railways to run their own trains on the DFC network.

This press release is based on information given by the Minister of Railways and Commerce & Industry, Shri Piyush Goyal in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha on 11 MAR 2020.

Source: PIB | Image Credit: DFCCIL

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.