IRCTC’s first Tejas Express to begin operations from October

Share with your network

New Delhi: The Lucknow-Delhi Tejas Express, the railways’ first train to be run by its subsidiary IRCTC, will begin operations from October 4, officials said on Thursday. According to them, the train’s fare will be 50 percent less than that of flights on the same route.

More Information:

  • The train will run 6 days a week, except on Tuesdays.
  • The train will have stoppages at Ghaziabad and Kanpur.
  • A decision on the second train — the Mumbai Central-Ahmedabad Tejas Express — also to be run by the IRCTC is yet to be taken.
  • No concession, privilege or duty passe will be allowed on these trains, according to a blueprint prepared by the Railway Board to handover the two trains to the IRCTC for a period of 3 years as a pilot project.
  • On-board ticket checking on IRCTC trains will not be done by the railway staff, the railways also said.
  • The trains will be uniquely numbered and operated by the railways’ operating staff — loco, pilots, guards and station masters.
  • Sources said, services of these two trains will be on par with the Shatabdi Express trains and given a similar priority.
  • Bringing in private train operators to provide world-class passenger service was a proposal mooted by the railways in its 100-day plan.
  • Handing over the two Tejas Express trains to IRCTC was a first step towards that goal, sources said.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.