Railways identifies 4 new Dedicated Freight Corridors

Share with your network

The Indian Railways has identified four new Dedicated Freight Corridors, and the Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) on these sections has been sought. Railway Board Chairman V.K. Yadav said, already we have started operations on over 500 km of the Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor (EDFC) and Western Dedicated Freight Corridor (WDFC).

More Information:

  • The railways is looking for four new Dedicated Freight Corridors, he said.
  • The railways has identified the four new freight corridors are:
    • East Coast Corridor from Kharagpur to Vijayawada (1,114 km)
    • East West Sub Corridor between Bhusaval-Wardha-Nagpur-Rajkharswan-Kharagpur-Ulberia-Dankuni (1,645 km)
    • East West Sub Corridor II, between Rajkharswan-Andal (195 km)
    • North South sub Corridor from Vijayawada to Itarsi (975 km)
  • The Railways will now carry out the DPR of the 3,933 km four freight corridors and they will be completed in the next 1 or 2 years, he said.
  • On EDFC, operations have started on 194 km between Khurja-Badhan and on 306 km stretch between Madar-Rewari on WDFC, the chairman said.
  • The 3,373-km DFC aims to augment rail transport capacity to meet the growing requirement of movement of goods by segregating freight from passenger traffic.
  • The Western DFC runs from Jawaharlal Nehru Port in Mumbai to Tughlakabad and Dadri near Delhi, and aims to cater largely to the container transport requirements between the existing and emerging ports in Maharashtra and Gujarat and the northern hinterland.
  • The 1,839 km Eastern DFC runs from Ludhiana in Punjab to Dankuni near Kolkata — to be extended in future to serve the new deep-sea port proposed in the Kolkata area, and will largely handle coal and steel traffic.
  • The Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India plans to run freight trains at a maximum speed of 100 kmph as against the current 75 kmph.
  • It also plans to increase the average speed of freight trains from the existing 26 kmph to 70 kmph on the DFC.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.