RRTS trains to be available at frequency of every 5-10 minutes

Share with your network

New Delhi: The much-awaited Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) project connecting Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut is on fast track. Recently, a meeting was convened by the Commissioner of the Meerut Division, in order to review the progress of the RRTS corridor.

More Information:

  • The meeting was convened to overcome roadblocks for the smooth progress of the project.
  • In the meeting, issues pertaining to the RRTS corridor were discussed in detail along with the concerned departments.
  • All the departments and agencies have been ordered to work together to make sure that the project is completed on schedule.
  • Also, any delay in the project is said to have significant cost implications.
  • The Commissioner also directed the concerned departments to expedite the approvals and permissions required for the construction of the RRTS in Delhi-NCR.
  • Once completed, the Delhi-Meerut RRTS corridor will reduce the travel time between Delhi and Meerut to just 55 minutes, according to NCRTC.
  • The RRTS trains will be available at a frequency of every 5-10 minutes.
  • The NCRTC (National Capital Region Transport Corporation) is the implementing agency of the RRTS projects.

RRTS corridors to be integrated with Delhi Metro stations

Date: April 17, 2019

The upcoming RRTS (Rapid Rail Transit System) corridors from Delhi-Gurugram-SNB(Shahjahanpur-Neemrana-Behror) urban complex and Delhi- Ghaziabad-Meerut will be seamlessly connected with Metro Rail in Delhi and NCR (National Capital Region).

More Information:

  • An official said, once completed, the RRTS corridor is expected to bring down the travel time from Delhi-SNB to just 70 minutes.
  • The Delhi-Gurugram-SNB Urban Complex corridor will be elevated for about 71 km and 35 km will be underground.
  • It will integrate with the other RRTS corridors at the Sarai Kale Khan station and will facilitate passengers’ movement from one corridor to another without the hassle of changing trains.
  • Over the Delhi-Gurugram-SNB corridor, the Sarai Kale Khan station of RRTS will be integrated with the Pink Line of Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) at Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway station and ISBT Sarai Kale Khan.
  • The Jor Bagh station of RRTS will integrate with the Delhi Metro Yellow Line.
  • Moreover, Munirka station of RRTS will integrate with the Magenta Line of DMRC.
  • The official added that the Udyog Vihar station of RRTS will integrate with the proposed extension of Gurugram Rapid Metro and Gurugram Railway Station.
  • The all the three RRTS corridors will converge at Sarai Kale Khan, the official further added.
  • The three corridors will intersect 7 Delhi metro stations:
    • Kashmere Gate (Red line)
    • Jor Bagh (Yellow line)
    • Indraprastha, New Ashok Nagar, Anand Vihar (Blue line)
    • Munirka (Magenta line)
    • Sarai Kale Khan (Pink line)
  • The Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut RRTS corridor is the first of the 3 priority corridors planned for implementation in Phase-1.
  • The other two are Delhi-Gurugram-Alwar and Delhi-Panipat Corridors.
  • The Delhi-Gurgaon-SNB is a part of Delhi-Gurgaon-Alwar of the Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) corridor.
  • This project is proposed to be undertaken by a SPV (Special Purpose Vehicle) namely the NCRTC (National Capital Region Transport Corporation) as a joint ownership of the Centre and State Governments with equal contribution.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.