CRS inspects railway electrification works between Rayadurga and Talaku section

Shri A K Rai, Commissioner of Railway Safety (CRS), Southern Eastern Region recently inspected the railway electrification works on 48 Route Km of section between Rayadurga and Talaku on Mysuru Division of South Western Railway (SWR). This section is part of the 184 Route Km of Ballari – Chikjajur electrification.

  • CRS inspection and speed trial of 48 Rkm electrified section between Rayadurga and Talaku of Mysuru division of SWR was done on 30.06.2020.
  • This work is being executed by Rail Vikas Nigam Ltd.

  • During the inspection, 3 power line crossings (2 between Talaku and Bommagundanakere and 1 between Bommagundanakere and Molakalmuru), 4 LC gates on the section and 4 stations (Talaku, Bommagundanakere, Molakalmuru & Rayadurga) were covered.
  • Overhead Equipment on the section i.e., foundations (1076 Nos.), mast erection & grouting (888 Nos.) portal/boom erection (18 Nos), bracket erection, wiring (104 shot) SED & TW checking were inspected.
  • Short circuit test was also conducted on the section.
  • Shri B G Mallya, PCEE, Shri Ajay Kumar, PCSTE, Smt Aparna Garg, DRM/MYS, Shri Himanshu Sharma, GM/EL/RVNL and other Branch officers of Mysuru division accompanied CRS during the inspection.

  • After completion of speed trial and inspection of the section and safety equipment at stations on this section, CRS will consider the proposal for Authorization of electrification of this line for passenger traffic.
  • Electrification of Section between Ballari to Rayadurga (53 Rkm) was completed in Dec 2019.
  • Electrification of Thornagallu and Hosapete has been completed in Feb 2020.

As envisioned in Union Budgets 2019 & 2020, Indian Railways is aiming to achieve the full electrification of its tracks in the next three to four years. On SWR aprox 802 Rkm of electrification has been targeted for completion in this financial year.

  • Last year, 147 Route Km of Railway track of SWR has been electrified.
  • The sections which were energised include:
    • Ballari – Rayadurga (53 Rkm)
    • Toranagallu – Ranjithpura (23 Rkm
    • Baiyappanahalli – Anekal (37 RKm)rack
    • Toranagallu – Kariganur (34 RKms)

Electrification will significantly improve mobility of trains on SWR and strengthen Rail network in Karnataka.  In addition to reduction in pollution, energy efficiency of Railway will improve due to shift from fossil fuel to electricity and save substantial foreign exchange.

Source: SWR-Press Release