Delhi-Meerut RRTS update: Shri V.K Singh, MD, NCRTC inspects ongoing construction works between Sarai Kale Khan & Vaishali

Share with your network

Shri Vinay Kumar Singh, MD, NCRTC, on 21st March, 2021 reviewed ongoing construction works between Sarai Kale Khan in Delhi to Vaishali in UP (Package 4&6) on the Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut RRTS corridor along with the core team.

  • As Sarai Kale Khan is one of the most critical RRTS stations where all the three priority RRTS corridors will converge, Mr. Singh thoroughly evaluated the progress & work schedule. 
  • As the site attracts heavy footfall due to the presence of ISBT, Rly Station and Metro, he took note of various steps being taken to manage traffic flow at the site.
  • While walking along the alignment, he reviewed the ongoing foundation work for the Yamuna bridge. 
  • He took a keen interest in understanding site engineers’ challenges and various SHE measures being adopted on the site.
  • He also inspected sites at New Ashok Nagar station and Khichripur ramp from where the RRTS corridor would become underground up to Vaishali via Anand Vihar.
  • Mr. Singh emphasized on safe work practices. 
  • He advised engineers to follow all safety and health precautions. 
  • While interacting with officers and contractors he expressed his satisfaction with the work progress; however, he insisted on ensuring minimum inconvenience to the public during construction. 

Project Update:

  • NCRTC has geared up construction activities on India’s first Regional Rail between Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut.
  • Superstructures are now visible on the Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut RRTS corridor.
  • Also, work for the RRTS viaduct near Dharamshila Marg, New Ashok Nagar in Delhi has already been started.
  • In this 4.3 km elevated section of Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut RRTS corridor, there will be the construction of a viaduct from Sarai Kale Khan RRTS Station to New Ashok Nagar Down ramp, including Jangpura entry ramp to the stabling yard, Jangpura. 
  • Two elevated RRTS stations, namely Sarai Kale Khan & New Ashok Nagar, will also be constructed, including a bridge over the Yamuna River.
  • The RRTS will have a total length of 82.15 km (68.03 km elevated and 14.12 km underground) with 25 stations.
  • It will have a design speed of 180 km per hour, maximum operating speed of 160 km per hour and high-frequency operations, which will reduce the journey time from Delhi to Meerut to 60 minutes. 

Source: NCRTC-Update

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.