Indian Railways introduces 109 Time tabled parcel trains over 58 routes to connect all the important centers

Share with your network

In a major boost to the supply chain across the country, Indian Railways has introduced  unhindered services of Time tabled Parcel Trains for nationwide transportation of essential commodities and other goods. This is expected to boost the availability of vital goods required for ordinary citizens, industry and agriculture.

Approximately, 58 routes (109 trains) for Parcel Special Trains have been notified since the start of the lock-down. Till 5th April 2020, 27 routes were notified, out of which 17 routes were regular scheduled services, while the remaining were for single trip only.Subsequently, 40 new routes have been identified and notified (and frequency of some of the previous routes has been increased). With this almost all the important cities of India will get connected for transportation of vital goods at a fast speed. It may be noted that these services are expected to be further scaled up.

Time Tabled Parcel Trains are planned as per the demand of the customers. Time tabled Parcel trains connect vital corridors of the country viz. Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad, and Bengaluru. In addition, proper connectivity has also been ensured to Guwahati, to ensure supplies in the North-eastern region of the country.

Other important cities connected via these trains are Bhopal, Allahabad, Dehradun, Varanasi, Ahmedabad, Vadodara, Ranchi, Gorakhpur, Thiruvananthapuram, Salem, Warangal, Vijayawada, Vishakhapatanam, Rourkela, Bilaspur, Bhusawal, Tatanagar, Jaipur, Jhansi, Agra, Nasik, Nagpur, Akola, Jalgaon, Surat, Pune, Raipur, Patna, Asansol, Kanpur, Jaipur, Bikaner, Ajmer, Gwalior, Mathura, Nellore, Jabalpur, etc.

Indian Railways has also been running other Parcel trains as per demand of customers during this period – which include:

  1. ‘Milk Specials’ from Palanpur (Gujarat) to Palwal (near Delhi), and from Renigunta (AP) to Delhi
  2. Milk products from Kankariya (Gujarat) to Kanpur (UP) and Sankrail (near Kolkata)
  3. Food products from Moga (Punjab) to Changsari (Assam)

Time Tabled Parcel Trains are being run even on those routes where demand is less, so that no part of the country remains unconnected. Some trains are being run with only 2 Parcel Vans, or with 1 Parcel Van and Brake Van.

These Parcel Trains introduced in wake of COVID-19 pandemic over different zones are as under:

S.No. Zone Pairs of Parcel Special Trains
1 WR 12 pairs
2 CR 07 pairs
3 WCR 05 pairs
4 NR 08 pairs
5 NWR 01 pair
6 SR/SWR 10 pairs
7 SCR 05 pairs
8 SER 03 pairs
9 SECR 04 pairs
10 NCR 01 pair
11 ECoR 02 pairs
12 NER 01 pair
13 ER 07 pairs
14 ECR 01 pair

(This information is till the morning of 8th April, and is likely to be revised upwards regularly.)


S.No. FROM TO Parcel Train No.
1 Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus Nagpur 00109
Nagpur Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus 00110
2 Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus Wadi 00111
Wadi Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus 00112
3 Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus Shalimar 00113
Shalimar Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus 00114
4 Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus Madras 00115
Madras Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus 00116
5 Changsari Kalyan 00104
1 Howrah New Delhi 00309
New Delhi Howrah 00310
2 Sealdah New Delhi 00311
New Delhi Sealdah 00312
3 Sealdah Guwahati 00313
Guwahati Sealdah 00314
4 Howrah Guwahati 00303
Guwahati Howrah 00304
5 Howrah Jamalpur 00305
Jamalpur Howrah 00306
6 Sealdah Malda Town 00315
Malda Town Sealdah 00316
7 Howrah Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus 00307
Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus Howrah 00308
1 Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Junction Saharsa 00302
Saharsa Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Junction 00301
1 Visakhapatnam Cuttack 00532
Cuttack Visakhapatnam 00531
2 Visakhapatnam Sambalpur 00530
Sambalpur Visakhapatnam 00529
1 New Delhi Guwahati 00402
Guwahati New Delhi 00401
2 Amritsar Howrah 00464
Howrah Amritsar 00463
3 Delhi Jammu Tawi 00403
Jammu Tawi Delhi 00404
4 Kalka Ambala 00454
Ambala Kalka 00453
5 Dehradun Delhi 00434
Delhi Dehradun 00433
1 Prayagraj Jhansi 00436
Jhansi Prayagraj 00435
1 Manduadih Kathgodam 00501
Kathgodam Manduadih 00502
1 New Guwahati Agartala  
1 Jaipur-Rewari-Jodhpur-Ajmer-Jaipur 00951
2 Jaipur-Ajmer-Jodhpur-Rewari-Jaipur 00952
1 Madras New Delhi 00646
New Delhi Madras 00647
2 Madras Coimbatore 00653
Coimbatore Madras 00654
3 Chennai Egmore Nagercoil 00657
Nagercoil Chennai Egmore 00658
4 Thiruvananthapuram Kozhikode 00655
Kozhikode Thiruvananthapuram 00656
1 Secundrabad Howrah  
Howrah Secundrabad  
2 Renigunta Secundrabad 00769
Secundrabad Renigunta 00770
3 Renigunta Secundrabad 00767
Secundrabad Renigunta 00768
4 Kakinada Secundrabad 00765
Secundrabad Kakinada 00766
5 Renigunta Nizamuddin 00761 (MILK)
1 Shalimar Ranchi 00801
Ranchi Shalimar 00802
2 Shalimar Changsari 00803
Changsari Shalimar 00804
1 Durg Chhapra 00875
Chhapra Durg 00876
2 Durg Ambikapur 00873
Ambikapur Durg 00874
3 Durg Korba 00871
Korba DURG 00872
4 Itwari TATA 00881
Tata Itwari 00882
1 Yesvantpur Gorakhpur 00607
Gorakhpur Yesvantpur 00608
2 Yesvantpur Nizamuddin 00605
Nizamuddin Yesvantpur 00606
3 Yesvantpur Howrah 00603
Howrah Yesvantpur 00604
4 Guwahati Yesvantpur 00610
1 Bandra Terminus Ludhiana 00901
Ludhiana Bandra Terminus 00902
2 Madras Kankaria 00908
3 Ahmedabad Guwahati 00915
Guwahati Ahmedabad 00916
4 Surat Bhagalpur 00917
Bhagalpur Surat 00918
5 Mumbai Central Ferozpur 00911
Ferozpur Mumbai Central 00912
6 Porbandar Shalimar 00913
Shalimar Porbandar 00914
7 Linch Salchapra 00909
Salchapra Linch 00910
8 Bhuj Dadar 00924
Dadar Bhuj 00925
9 Bandra Terminus Okha 00921
Okha Bandra Terminus 00920
1 Bhopal Gwalior  
Gwalior Bhopal  
2 Itarsi Bina  
Bina Itarsi  
3 Bhopal Khandwa  
Khandwa Bhopal  
4 Rewa Anooppur  
Anooppur Rewa  
5 Rewa Singrauli  
Singrauli Rewa  
Total Routes: 58

So far, approximately 32 pairs of parcel special have been notified as inter-Railway (long distance), while the remaining are intra-Railway (short distance).

Some of the longer routes for these Parcel Special trains are:

  1. Kalyan – Santragachi
  2. Kalyan – Changsari
  3. New Delhi – Chennai
  4. Salem – Bhatinda
  5. Salem – Hisar
  6. Yeswanthpur – HazratNizamuddin
  7. Yeswanthpur – Howrah
  8. Yeswanthpur – Gorakhpur
  9. Yeswanthpur – Guwahati
  10. hmedabad – Guwahati
  11. Karambeli – Changsari
  12. Kankariya – Sankrail

The facility of transporting parcels through these trains can be availed by any person or company. As per the available trends, following goods are being transported across the length and breadth of the country:

  1. Perishables (including eggs, fruits, vegetables, fish)
  2. Medicines, medical equipment, masks
  3. Milk and Dairy product
  4. Seeds (for agricultural use)
  5. Other general goods such as E-Commerce consignments, packaged food items, books, stationary, packing material, etc

Trains have been given en-route stoppages at all feasible locations, so that maximum possible clearance of parcels may be done.Zonal Railways are publishing the time-tables of these trains in leading newspapers. In addition, regular customers and government agencies are also being contacted.

Source: PIB | Image Credit: MoR-Twitter

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.