Insights on redevelopment of 45 railway stations which are in different phases of construction

Share with your network

Modernisation/upgradation/redevelopment of railway stations is a continuous and ongoing process subject to traffic, inter-se priority of works and availability of funds and these works are generally carried out through the Plan Head Customer Amenities (PH-53).

More Details:

  • The works are planned for efficient execution depending upon the type/size of work, its geographic location etc. As a single work may cover a number of stations and similarly a single station may be covered by a number of works, the station-wise details of contracts are not maintained. However, the details of major contracts awarded for redevelopment of stations during 2022-23 (upto January 2023) are appended.
  • The Ministry of Railways has identified 31 railway stations from the State of Punjab and Union Territory of Chandigarh for development under the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme.
  • These stations are Chandigarh, Ludhiana, Jalandhar Cantt., Amritsar, Beas, Bhatinda Jn., Jalandhar City, Pathankot Cantt., Abohar, Anandpur Sahib, Fazilka, Firozepur Cantt., Gurdaspur, Kotkapura, Kapurthala, Dhuri, Dhandari Kalan, Malerkotla, Muktsar, Moga, Mansa, Nangal Dam, Patiala, Phagwara, Pathankot City, Phillur, Rup Nagar, Sahibzada Ajeet Singh Nagar (SASN) Mohali, Sangrur, Sirhind, Hoshiarpur.
  • Development/redevelopment/upgradation of Railway Stations is complex in nature involving safety of passengers and trains and requires various statutory clearances from urban/local bodies etc. and these factors affect the completion time. Therefore, no time frame can be indicated.

Appendix regarding redevelopment of Railway Stations:

S. No. Name of station State Value of Contract awarded (Rs. in Crore)
1 Tirupati Andhra Pradesh 299.21
2 Gaya Bihar 244.00
3 Delhi Cantt. Delhi 309.80
4 Lucknow (Charbagh) Uttar Pradesh 399.33
5 Ghaziabad Uttar Pradesh 364.29
6 Udaipur City Rajasthan 304.08
7 Gandhinagar Jaipur Rajasthan 177.45
8 Kota Rajasthan 207.63
9 DakaniyaTalav Rajasthan 111.19
10 Udhna Gujarat 199.00
11 Chandigarh UT of Chandigarh 462.00
12 Ludhiana Punjab 472.95
13 Secunderabad Telangana 699.77
14 Gwalior Madhya Pradesh 462.80
15 Somnath Gujarat 138.16
16 Faridabad Haryana 240.09
17 Puri Odisha 124.87
18 Nagpur Maharashtra 487.76
19 Jaipur Rajasthan 577.77
20 Sabarmati Gujarat 301.60
21 Bhubaneswar Odisha 397.58
22 Rameswaram Tamilnadu 90.20
23 Ernakulam Kerala 299.99
24 Kanniyakumari Tamilnadu 49.36
25 Puducherry UT of Puducherry 72.10
26 Nellore Andhra Pradesh 102.04
27 Madurai Tamilnadu 347.47
28 Kollam Kerala 361.18
29 Ernakulam Town Kerala 150.28
30 Muzaffarpur Bihar 426.47
31 Katpadi Tamil Nadu 329.32
32 Jammu Tawi UT of J & K 215.71
33 Bangalore Cantt. Karnataka 480.02
34 JallandharCantt. Punjab 95.92
35 Chennai Egmore Tamilnadu 734.90
36 New Jalpaiguri West Bengal 287.96
37 Prayagraj Uttar Pradesh 936.41
38 Ranchi Jharkhand 330.55
39 Visakhapatnam Andhra Pradesh 388.91
40 Jaisalmer Rajasthan 109.47
41 Jodhpur Rajasthan 474.52
42 Surat Gujarat 877.79
43 Yesvantpur Karnataka 377.86
44 New Bhuj Gujarat 170.76
45 Ajni (Nagpur) Maharashtra 297.79
  • This information was given by the Minister of Railways, Communications and Electronic & Information Technology, Shri Ashwini Vaishnaw in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha.

Source: PIB- Press Release | Image Credit (representational): RLDA

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.