Mumbai-Ahmedabad HSR update: NHSRCL signs MoU with JRTC for designs of High Speed Rail Track Works

The National High Speed Rail Corporation Limited (NHSRCL) today signed a MoU with Japan Railway Track Consultant Co. Limited (JRTC) for the Designs of High Speed Rail (HSR) Track works for T2 package (237 km between Vadodara to Vapi in Gujarat state) for Mumbai-Ahmedabad High Speed Rail Corridor Project.

  • JRTC will provide the detailed design and drawing of major HSR track components like RC Track bed, Track slab arrangement and continuous welded rail (CWR) forces etc.
  • The virtual event was attended by Shri Achal Khare, Managing Director, Shri Rajendra Prasad, Director Project, Shri Vijay Kumar, Director Rolling Stock and other senior officers from NHSRCL, Shri Miyamoto Minister from Embassy of Japan to India, Shri Katsuo Matsumoto, Chief Representative, JICA and Shri Horiyama, President, JRTC.

Shri Achal Khare, Managing Director, NHSRCL said that “This signing of MoU marks a very important milestone for MAHSR project. This also symbolizes a strong team work and association which I am sure will not be limited to MAHSR projects but may also continue for other future projects in other countries.” He further added that “NHSRCL will extend its full support to make this MoU a success”.

Speaking on the occasion Shri Shinzo Miyamoto, Minister, Embassy of Japan to India said that “This MoU will strengthen the ties between India and Japan partnership and will also give a boost to ‘Make in India’ initiative. This will also ensure the Transfer of Technology from Japanese High-speed rail system to India.

About Mumbai-Ahmedabad High Speed Rail Corridor:

The first High Speed Rail corridor to be implemented in the Country, with technical and financial assistance of the Government of Japan, has been identified from Mumbai to Ahmedabad. With a total twelve stations in the States of Maharashtra, Gujarat and Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the corridor will have a length of 508.17 Km. 

  • High speed rail will cover 155.76 kms in the state of Maharashtra (7.04 Kms in Mumbai sub-urban, 39.66 kms in Thane district & 109.06 kms in Palghar district), 4.3 kms in union territory of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and 348.04 kms in the state of Gujarat.
  • High speed rail will cover a total 12 stations namely Mumbai, Thane, Virar, Boisar, (in Maharashtra), Vapi, Bilimora, Surat, Bharuch, Vadodara, Anand, Ahmedabad and Sabarmati (in Gujarat). 
  • Where a limited stop (in Surat & Vadodara) service will cover this distance in 1 hr. and 58 mins and all stops service will take 2 hr. 57 min to cover this distance.
  • High speed rail will be operating at a speed of 320 Km/hr at an elevated (10 to 15 m) track above the ground on a viaduct all along except 26 kms in Mumbai, which will be underground. 
  • All stations will be elevated except Bandra Kurla Complex station (Mumbai), which will be underground.

Source: NHSRCL-Press Release | Main Image Credit (representational): NHSRCL