Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy appointed as new General Manager at Metro Railway Kolkata

Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy has assumed the charge of General Manager, Metro Railway, Kolkata. He replaced Shri Arun Arora, who was the General Manager of Metro Railway.

More Details:

  • Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy belongs to the 1986 batch of Indian Railways Service of Mechanical Engineers (IRSME). Prior to this assignment, he served as Addl. General Manager/South Central Railway, Secunderabad.
  • Shri Reddy joined Indian Railways as Special Class Railway Apprentice Batch, 1983 in Jamalpur.
  • He carries a rich working experience, having worked in Eastern Railway, ICF/Chennai, South Central Railway and Southern Railway in various capacities.
  • Some of his important previous assignments have been Chairman, RRB/Secunderabad and RRB/Bangalore, CAO/ICF/Chennai, CWE/Southern Railway, Divisional Railway Manager, Southern Railway/Tiruchirapalli Division.
  • He has undergone various training programmes o­n Leadership and Strategic Management in India and abroad.

About Kolkata Metro:

  • Metro Railway, Kolkata is the first underground Metro in India. It extends from Dakshineswar to Kavi Subhash Metro station near Garia, on the busy North-South axis of Kolkata over a length of 31.365 Kms. with 26 Stations & 15.70 Kms. of underground section.
  • Based on traffic studies, the Dum Dum – Tollygunge corridor was first selected for implementation and work started on 29th December, 1972. The first metro line in India was completed on 24th October 1984, a stretch of about 3.4 km between Esplanade and Bhowanipur (Netaji Bhavan), thrown open for the Public.
  • The Metro Railway, Kolkata was constructed progressively from 1972 to 2021. In Phase-I, a length of 16.45 Kms from Dum Dum to Tollygunge (Mahanayak Uttam Kumar) completed in 1995 and in Phase-II a length of 5.834 Kms from Mahanayak Uttam Kumar to Kavi Nazrul Metro station is completed in August, 2009.
  • In October 2010, Metro services further extended up to Kavi Subhash, a length of 2.851 Kms. It further extended Dum Dum to Noapara, a length of 2.091 Kms, on 10th July 2013. The last leg was opened on 23rd February 2021 for commercial operation from Noapara to Dakshineswar (4.139 Kms).
  • It extended in the East-West axis from Salt Lake Sector-V to Salt Lake Stadium, covering a length of 5.3 kms with 6 stations on 13th February 2020 and further extended from Salt Lake Stadium to Phoolbagan on 4th October 2020 (1.67 kms). It is further extended from Phoolbagan to Sealdah (2.33 kms) on 11th July 2022.

Source: Kolkata Metro- Press Release