The prestigious Mumbai-New Delhi Rajdhani Express of Western Railway has completed 50 glorious years

Share with your network

Western Railway’s prestigious Mumbai–New Delhi Rajdhani Express completed 50 glorious years, since its maiden run o­n 17th May, 1972. To celebrate this Golden Jubilee celebration, Western Railway organised a commemorative event at Mumbai Central station & flagged off the train in a befitting grand honour. A special Postal Cover & a VIP album were also released to mark this occasion. Shri. Ashok Kumar Mehta, Principal Chief Commissioner, Mumbai CGST was the Chief Guest of the ceremony & Smt. Veena R Srinivas, Chief Postmaster General, Maharashtra Circle was the Guest of Honour. Shri G V L Satyakumar, Divisional Railway Manager of Mumbai Central Division and other senior railway were also present during this occasion.

More details:

  • According to a press release issued by Shri Sumit Thakur – Chief Public Relations Officer of Western Railway, the Mumbai – New Delhi Rajdhani Express made its inaugural journey from Mumbai Central station (then Bombay Central) o­n 17th May, 1972 to the National Capital.
  • The train completed 50 glorious years in the service of the nation and to mark this occasion, a befitting celebration was organised at Mumbai Central station before the departure of this iconic train.

  • Shri Satyakumar, DRM, Mumbai Central welcomed the Chief Guest, Guest of Honour and dignitaries present at this momentous occasion. The Special Postal Cover & VIP album was released by the dignitaries.
  • This was followed by a Flash Mob skit performance by members of the Rotaract Club of HR College. Two of the WR staff who retired from railway service working in this prestigious train an o­ne serving employee shared their memorable experiences. Souvenir tickets & mementos were presented to the travelling passengers.
  • Also, instant photographs were clicked to cherish their journey o­n this memorable day. It is noteworthy to mention that Shri Qamruzzaman Sarang, 90 year old, o­ne of the passengers to travel by the maiden trip of Rajdhani Express is also undertaking his journey o­n this historic day. He was the first person to receive the souvenir ticket from the Chief Guest, Shri Ashok Kumar Mehta.

Shri Thakur stated that the Rajdhani Express offers impeccable services, fastest speed, punctuality and sumptuous catering services. The Mumbai – New Delhi Rajdhani Express covers a distance of 1383 km in 15 hrs 32 min, traversing through seven states. In 1972, Indian Railways introduced the second Rajdhani Express over Indian Railways connecting the national capital, Delhi, to the financial capital, Mumbai. The first Rajdhani Express was introduced between Howrah-Delhi, three years back in 1969.

Important Milestones Of Mumbai – New Delhi Rajdhani Express:

  • 17/05/72: 151 Dn/152 Up Rajdhani Exp introduced o­n Mumbai-Delhi Route
    • This train comprised of Four Chair Car, o­ne AC First Class, Two AC Sleeper coaches and was run twice a week
  • 1975: Frequency increased to three days a week
  • 02/10/81: Number of coaches increased to 18, hauled by two engines called as Double headed Rajdhani
  • 19/11/82: Rajdhani Express started running four days a week
  • 1985: Frequency increased to 5 days a week
  • 01/11/89: Made six days a week and renumbered as 2951/2952
    • Air brake system introduced first time over Indian Railways and also in Rajdhani Express.
    • Two diesel engines attached and the train now comprised of Eight Chair Car, o­ne First AC, Five 2 Tier AC coaches with 2 Pantry Cars.

  • 01/07/91: August Kranti Rajdhani Exp (2953/2954) introduced between Mumbai and Delhi
  • 15/05/92: Chair Car coaches replaced with 3AC coaches in Rajdhani Express
  • 02/10/2000: Rajdhani Express started running as daily train
  • 15/12/2003: LHB coaches introduced in Rajdhani Exp
  • 19/07/2021: Tejas Type Sleeper coaches (First o­n Indian Railways) introduced in 12951/52 Mumbai – New Delhi Rajdhani Exp

Source: Western Railway -Press Release

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.