Kolkata Metro’s GM Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy inaugurates inhouse test bench for testing of Roof Mounted AC Package Unit (RMPU) at Noapara carshed

Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy, General Manager, Metro Railway has inaugurated an in-house built test bench for testing Roof Mounted AC Package Unit (RMPU) at Noapara Carshed o­n 18.09.2023. Senior officers and other staff of Metro Railway were present in this function.

More Details:

This unit is to perform a complete test of the air conditioning system along with its microprocessor controller by this integrated test bench set-up during overhauling to improve reliability of the air-conditioning system.

Some advantages of this unit are that individual RMPU can be checked and tested o­n the floor at the same time after necessary blowing and cleaning, saving valuable man-hours.

There will be no need to wait for Rake formation to test the RMPU after the overhauling works. All the parameters like Voltage and current supply can be monitored o­n the display of this new test bench. The performance of the RMPU can also be verified with the help of it.

The functionality of safety protections shall be tested and the operations of Fresh Air & Return Air damper motors (Belimo Motors) shall also be verified under normal as well as emergency mode of operation. Fault analysis shall be carried out with the help of a laptop connecting with the test set-up.

The General Manager also took part in the Viswakarma Puja at Metro Rail Bhavan, Kalighat Metro station, different shops of Noapara Carshed and Central Park Depot at Salt Lake. He and other senior officers of Metro Railway also offered puja there.

About Kolkata Metro:

Metro Railway, Kolkata is the first underground metro in India. It extends from Dakshineswar to Kavi Subhash Metro station near Garia, on the busy North-South axis of Kolkata over a length of 31.365 Kms. with 26 Stations & 15.70 Kms. of underground section.

Based on traffic studies, the Dum Dum – Tollygunge corridor was first selected for implementation and work started on 29th December, 1972. The first metro line in India was accomplished on 24th October 1984, a stretch of about 3.4 km between Esplanade and Bhowanipur (Netaji Bhavan), thrown open for the Public.

The Metro Railway, Kolkata was constructed progressively from 1972 to 2021. In Phase-I, a length of 16.45 Kms from Dum Dum to Tollygunge (Mahanayak Uttam Kumar) accomplished in 1995 and in Phase-II a length of 5.834 Kms from Mahanayak Uttam Kumar to Kavi Nazrul Metro station is accomplished in August, 2009.

In October 2010, Metro services further extended up to Kavi Subhash, a length of 2.851 Kms. It further extended Dum Dum to Noapara, a length of 2.091 Kms, on 10th July 2013. The last leg was opened on 23rd February 2021 for commercial operation from Noapara to Dakshineswar (4.139 Kms).

It extended in the East-West axis from Salt Lake Sector-V to Salt Lake Stadium, covering a length of 5.3 kms with 6 stations on 13th February 2020 and further extended from Salt Lake Stadium to Phoolbagan on 4th October 2020 (1.67 kms). It is further extended from Phoolbagan to Sealdah (2.33 kms) on 11th July 2022.

Source: Kolkata Metro- Press Release | Images Credit: Kolkata Metro