Kolkata Metro’s GM, Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy inspects Blue and Green Line of metro network

Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy, General Manager, Metro Railway inspected Central and Esplanade Metro station of Blue Line and Sealdah station of Green Line.

More Details:

  • He inspected entry/exit points, platforms, concourse level, Ticket Vending Machines, station signages, overall cleanliness, booking counters and passenger amenities etc. He also interacted with station staff.
  • During this inspection, GM was apprised of the passenger management system of the stations. He instructed concerned officials to further improve commercial utilisation of vacant spaces of these three stations.
  • Shri Reddy, after completing the inspection of Central station, travelled to Esplanade station in a Metro.
  • Afterwards, he went to Sealdah station to inspect different facilities there including a double discharge platform. From Sealdah he travelled to Salt Lake Sector V station in a Metro.
  • He expressed his satisfaction seeing the overall arrangements and cleanliness of Central, Esplanade and Sealdah stations.

About Kolkata Metro:

  • Metro Railway, Kolkata is the first underground Metro in India. It extends from Dakshineswar to Kavi Subhash Metro station near Garia, on the busy North-South axis of Kolkata over a length of 31.365 Kms. with 26 Stations & 15.70 Kms. of underground section.
  • Based on traffic studies, the Dum Dum – Tollygunge corridor was first selected for implementation and work started on 29th December, 1972. The first metro line in India was completed on 24th October 1984, a stretch of about 3.4 km between Esplanade and Bhowanipur (Netaji Bhavan), thrown open for the Public.
  • The Metro Railway, Kolkata was constructed progressively from 1972 to 2021. In Phase-I, a length of 16.45 Kms from Dum Dum to Tollygunge (Mahanayak Uttam Kumar) completed in 1995 and in Phase-II a length of 5.834 Kms from Mahanayak Uttam Kumar to Kavi Nazrul Metro station is completed in August, 2009.
  • In October 2010, Metro services further extended up to Kavi Subhash, a length of 2.851 Kms. It further extended Dum Dum to Noapara, a length of 2.091 Kms, on 10th July 2013. The last leg was opened on 23rd February 2021 for commercial operation from Noapara to Dakshineswar (4.139 Kms).
  • It extended in the East-West axis from Salt Lake Sector-V to Salt Lake Stadium, covering a length of 5.3 kms with 6 stations on 13th February 2020 and further extended from Salt Lake Stadium to Phoolbagan on 4th October 2020 (1.67 kms). It is further extended from Phoolbagan to Sealdah (2.33 kms) on 11th July 2022.

Source: Kolkata Metro- Press Release | Image Credit: Kolkata Metro