Kolkata Metro’s GM, Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy inspects East-West metro corridor

Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy, General Manager, Metro Railway inspected Sealdah to Salt Lake Sector V stretch of East-West Metro Corridor (Green Line). Shri Reddy reached Sealdah station in the morning and started the inspection from there.

More Details:

  • At Sealdah, he inspected entry/exit points, platforms, Crew Lobby, Ticket Vending Machines, Station Signages etc. He also interacted with station staff and instructed them to maintain the highest standard of cleanliness at this station.
  • After completing the Sealdah inspection, the General Manager boarded a Metro at 10.55 hrs and travelled up to Salt Lake Sector V station with other commuters.
  • At Salt Lake Sector V, Shri Reddy inspected Door Frame Metal Detectors, Toilets, Staff Room, Ticket Counters, and overall cleanliness of the station.
  • While interacting with the station staff, he urged them to take all possible measures to make this Corridor the most preferred Corridor for the commuters.
  • During the return journey from Salt Lake Sector V in a Metro, the General Manager travelled in the Driving Motorman’s Cab from Central Park to Sealdah.
  • He expressed his satisfaction seeing the overall arrangements and cleanliness of this Corridor after the inspection.

About Kolkata Metro:

  • Metro Railway, Kolkata is the first underground Metro in India. It extends from Dakshineswar to Kavi Subhash Metro station near Garia, on the busy North-South axis of Kolkata over a length of 31.365 Kms. with 26 Stations & 15.70 Kms. of underground section.
  • Based on traffic studies, the Dum Dum – Tollygunge corridor was first selected for implementation and work started on 29th December, 1972. The first metro line in India was completed on 24th October 1984, a stretch of about 3.4 km between Esplanade and Bhowanipur (Netaji Bhavan), thrown open for the Public.
  • The Metro Railway, Kolkata was constructed progressively from 1972 to 2021. In Phase-I, a length of 16.45 Kms from Dum Dum to Tollygunge (Mahanayak Uttam Kumar) completed in 1995 and in Phase-II a length of 5.834 Kms from Mahanayak Uttam Kumar to Kavi Nazrul Metro station is completed in August, 2009.
  • In October 2010, Metro services further extended up to Kavi Subhash, a length of 2.851 Kms. It further extended Dum Dum to Noapara, a length of 2.091 Kms, on 10th July 2013. The last leg was opened on 23rd February 2021 for commercial operation from Noapara to Dakshineswar (4.139 Kms).
  • It extended in the East-West axis from Salt Lake Sector-V to Salt Lake Stadium, covering a length of 5.3 kms with 6 stations on 13th February 2020 and further extended from Salt Lake Stadium to Phoolbagan on 4th October 2020 (1.67 kms). It is further extended from Phoolbagan to Sealdah (2.33 kms) on 11th July 2022.

Source: Kolkata Metro- Press Release | Image Credit: Kolkata Metro

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.