Major Update: Successful Maiden Trial Run on Kolkata Metro’s Taratala-Majerhat Stretch of Purple Line

In a significant development, Metro Railway (Kolkata) successfully conducted its maiden trial run on Taratala-Majerhat Stretch of Purple Line. The trial run started from Taratala Station and after covering 1.25 kms it reached Majerhat Station.

More Details:

  • The maiden trial run o­n Taratala-Majerhat stretch of Joka-Esplanade Metro Corridor has been conducted smoothly o­n 13th January, 2024. The AC trial rake (MR-417) started from Taratala station at 12.16 hrs. and after covering 1.25 kms it reached Majerhat station at 12.19 hrs.
  • On the return journey, this rake started from Majerhat at 12.43 hrs. and it reached Taratala at 12.46 hrs. The trial rake was taken out from the Joka Depot, which has been built for rake stabling and maintenance work. During this trial run, the rake travelled with a maximum speed of 50 km/hr.

Shri Harsimran Singh, Chief Project Manager / RVNL and senior officials of Metro Railway were present during this trial run. While Shri P. Uday Kumar Reddy, General Manager , Metro Railway has congratulated all the officers and staff of Team Metro and Team RVNL for this successful completion of the maiden trial run.

About Kolkata Metro:

  • Metro Railway, Kolkata is the first underground Metro in India. It extends from Dakshineswar to Kavi Subhash Metro station near Garia, on the busy North-South axis of Kolkata over a length of 31.365 Kms. with 26 Stations & 15.70 Kms. of underground section.

  • Based on traffic studies, the Dum Dum – Tollygunge corridor was first selected for implementation and work started on 29th December, 1972. The first metro line in India was completed on 24th October 1984, a stretch of about 3.4 km between Esplanade and Bhowanipur (Netaji Bhavan), thrown open for the Public.

  • The Metro Railway, Kolkata was constructed progressively from 1972 to 2021. In Phase-I, a length of 16.45 Kms from Dum Dum to Tollygunge (Mahanayak Uttam Kumar) completed in 1995 and in Phase-II a length of 5.834 Kms from Mahanayak Uttam Kumar to Kavi Nazrul Metro station is completed in August, 2009.
  • In October 2010, Metro services further extended up to Kavi Subhash, a length of 2.851 Kms. It further extended Dum Dum to Noapara, a length of 2.091 Kms, on 10th July 2013. The last leg was opened on 23rd February 2021 for commercial operation from Noapara to Dakshineswar (4.139 Kms).

  • It extended in the East-West axis from Salt Lake Sector-V to Salt Lake Stadium, covering a length of 5.3 kms with 6 stations on 13th February 2020 and further extended from Salt Lake Stadium to Phoolbagan on 4th October 2020 (1.67 kms). It is further extended from Phoolbagan to Sealdah (2.33 kms) on 11th July 2022.

This successful trial run marks a crucial milestone for Kolkata Metro’s ongoing expansion, promising enhanced connectivity and efficient transportation for the citizens of Kolkata. Stay tuned for further updates on this groundbreaking achievement!

Source: Kolkata Metro- Press Release  | Images Credit: Kolkata Metro

Join us for the upcoming Railway Innovation Summit with 400+ Top Rail & Metro Industry Leaders on 30th Jan, 2024 in New Delhi, India. Register here and participate in the summit.