Provision of Permanent Bicycle Stands at Metro Parking Lots

With a view to encourage use of bicycles and propagate environment friendly mode of transportation among the metro commuters for covering smaller distances, DMRC has introduced permanent space for bicycle stands at its Metro stations which have provision of dedicated parking lots. At present, this facility is available at 18 parking lots at different stations across Delhi Metro network. These stations are:

Line-1(4): Seelampur, Shahdara, Welcome, Rithala

Line-2 (3): Saket, Arjangarh, Chattarpur

Line-3/4(3): Dwarka Mor, Dwarka, Dwarka Sec21

Line-5 (3): Mundka, Nangloi, Peeragarhi

Line-6 (3): Tughlakabad, Badarpur, Sarita Vihar

Line-8 (1): Okhla Bird Sanctuary

The parking lots at Nawada, Uttam Nagar (E) and Vishwavidayala Metro stations have also been identified for permanent bicycle stands which will be installed within few days. This facility will be further extended to more stations in a phased manner. These permanent bicycle stands have the capacity for parking of multiple bicycles and will be provided with a locking mechanism for the safety of bicycles.

DMRC in association with some private operators is already operating 20 bicycle sharing service stands (through operators) covering 19 stations across its network. With the recent expansion of Metro network, 13 more stations have been identified for these bicycle sharing service which will be functional in few weeks.

DMRC encourages the use of bicycles by commuters as it is an eco-friendly mode of transport.

Source : DMRC