Union Cabinet approves two new corridors for Delhi Metro Phase-IV expansion

In a significant move to enhance the urban mobility in Delhi, the Union Cabinet, under the leadership of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, has greenlit two additional corridors for the Delhi Metro Phase-IV project. The approval marks a crucial step towards expanding the capital’s metro connectivity, aiming to streamline the commute and reduce traffic congestion.

More Details:

The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi approved two new corridors of Delhi Metro’s Phase-IV project which are expected to further improve the Metro connectivity in the national capital.

Image Credit (representational): DMRC

The two corridors are:

  • Inderlok – Indraprastha 12.377 km
  • Lajpat Nagar – Saket G Block 8.385 km

Project Cost & Funding:

Total project cost of these two corridors of Delhi Metro’s Phase – IV project is Rs. 8,399 crores, which will be sourced from Government of India, Government of Delhi, and international funding agencies.

This Approval will Enhance Connectivity:

These two lines will comprise 20.762 kms. The Inderlok – Indraprastha corridor will be an extension of the Green Line and will provide interchange with the Red, Yellow, Airport Line, Magenta, Violet and Blue Lines, while the Lajpat Nagar – Saket G Block corridor will connect the Silver, Magenta, Pink and Violet Lines.

The Lajpat Nagar – Saket G Block corridor will be entirely elevated and will have eight stations. The Inderlok – Indraprastha corridor will have 11.349 kms of underground lines and 1.028 kms of elevated lines comprising 10 stations.

The Inderlok – Indraprastha Line will provide enhanced connectivity to the Bahadurgarh region of Haryana as commuters from these areas will be able to travel on the Green Line to directly reach Indraprastha as well as various other areas of central and east Delhi.

Eight new interchange stations will come up on these corridors at Inderlok, Nabi Karim, New Delhi, Delhi Gate, Indraprastha, Lajpat Nagar, Chirag Dilli and Saket G Block. These stations will significantly improve the interconnectivity among all the operational lines of the Delhi Metro network.

Image Credit (representational): DMRC

Phase-IV is an Ongoing Project:

  • The Delhi Metro is already constructing a network of 65 kilometres as part of its fourth phase of expansion. These new corridors are expected to be completed by March 2026 in stages. Presently, the DMRC operates a network of 391 kilometres consisting of 286 stations.
  • The Delhi Metro is now one of the fastest growing Metro networks in the world. The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited (DMRC) has already started the pre-bid activities and preparation of Tender documents.


The Delhi Metro Phase-IV expansion, with its two new approved corridors, marks a pivotal step towards improved urban mobility in Delhi, aiming for completion by 2026. This initiative underscores the commitment to enhancing the city’s transport network, promising a more connected and efficient future for its commuters.

Source: PIB – Press Release | Image Credit (representational): DMRC

Join us for the upcoming 5th Rail & Metro Technology Conclave with 600+ Top Rail & Metro Industry Leaders on 23rd & 24th July, 2024 in New Delhi, India. Register here and participate in the summit.