Work of Delhi Metro’s Phase 4 commences

The construction work for Delhi Metro’s Phase 4 was formally started today at Haiderpur Badli Mor in the presence of DMRC’s Managing Director, Dr. Mangu Singh and other senior officials.

Piling work was commenced at Haiderpur Badli Mor as part of the Phase 4’s first civil contract which was awarded last month for the construction of a portion of the Janakpuri West – R. K Ashram Marg Corridor (Extension of Line – 8, Magenta Line).

The contract includes construction of 10 stations – Keshopur, Paschim Vihar, Peeragarhi, Mangolpuri, West Enclave, Pushpanjali, Deepali Chowk, Madhuban Chowk, Prashant Vihar & North Pitampura. The entire corridor is elevated.

The work involves the part design and construction of elevated viaduct, elevated ramp, siding line and station buildings from Keshopur to Haiderpur Badli Mor. The work on this corridor is expected to be completed within 30 months from the commencement of work.

The 28.92 km long Janakpuri West – R. K Ahsram Marg corridor is an extension of Magenta Line and will come up with 22 stations. The tenders for the remaining stations of this corridor are also nearing finalisation. Tenders for civil construction have already been floated for the other planned corridors and two more contracts have already been awarded.

As part of this particular contract, three interchange stations, Peeragarhi (with Green Line), Madhuban Chowk (with Red Line) and Haiderpur Badli Mor (with Yellow Line) will come up. In addition, the entire Janakpuri West – R. K Ahsram Marg corridor will comprise of three more interchange stations at Majlis Park (with Pink Line), Azadpur (with Yellow and Pink Lines) and R K Ashram Marg (with Blue Line). Therefore, in total, this corridor will have six interchange stations.

When the Haiderpur Badli Mor Metro station was constructed on the Yellow Line as part of Delhi Metro’s Phase 3, provisions were kept for its expansion as an interchange facility in Phase 4. This will help in substantially reducing construction time as well as costs in Phase 4.

The Phase 4 platforms of Haiderpur Badli Mor which will come up above the Phase 3 station will also the highest ever platform in Delhi Metro at a height of 23.5 metres. The Mayur Vihar Phase 1 Pink Line station is at a height of 22 metres while the Karkardooma station is at a height of 20 metres.  

Three corridors of Phase 4 have so far been approved under which, 61.679 kilometres of new Metro lines shall be constructed across three different corridors comprising of 45 Metro stations. These new sections shall provide interconnectivity among the already operational sections of Delhi Metro. 

The approved corridors are: 

CorridorsTotal LengthUnderground LengthElevated LengthNo. Of Stations
Aerocity to Tughlakabad20.20114.6195.58215
R. K Ashram to Janakpuri West28.927.7421.1822
Maujpur – Majlis Park12.5580012.55808

The following civil tenders have already been finalised and awarded. Tenders for other stretches of the three approved corridors are at various stages of finalisation.

1.      Construction of 10 stations on the Janakpuri West – RK Ashram Metro corridor – Keshopur, Paschim Vihar, Peeragarhi, Mangolpuri, West Enclave, Pushpanjali, Deepali Chowk, Madhuban Chowk, Prashant Vihar & North Pitampura.

2.      The Maujpur to Majlis Park corridor comprising of Bridge across river Yamuna and Integrated Elevated Viaduct with PWD flyover at lower deck & Metro line at upper deck from Yamuna Vihar to Bhajanpura and 08 Elevated Stations viz. Yamuna Vihar, Bhajanpura, Khajuri Khas, Sonia Vihar, Soorghat, Jagatpur Village, Jharoda and Burari station.

3.      Elevated Viaduct and 6 Lane flyover (Double Deck system), Viaduct and Elevated Ramps for viaduct and flyover, Siding lines, Under Pass at Saket G, Elevated Ramps from BRT corridor to flyover  and two lane underpass from MB road to BRT corridor and Four Elevated Stations viz. Sangam Vihar, Khanpur, Ambedkar Nagar and Saket G (Aerocity – Tughlakabad Metro corridor) .

Source : Delhi Metro