Chennai Metro update: Over 80,152 passengers travelled in Metro after inauguration of Phase-I extension

After the inauguration of Phase-I Extension from Vtlashennanpet to Wimeo Nagar 80,152 passengers have travelled in Chennai Metro Train on 15.02.2021. 

A total of 9,972 passengers have travelled in the Phase-I Extension on 15.022021.

Station Name  Passenger Flow 
Wimco Nagar Metro 1727 
Thiruvottiyur Metro  1544
Kaladipet Metro  1645
Tollgate Metro 1276 
New Washermenpet Metro 1466 
Tondiarpet Metro  854
Thiyagaraya College Metro  1460 
Total  9972 

The following metro stations have the highest number of commuters are travelled: 

Corridor-1 Blue Line: 

Station Name  Passenger Flow
Airport Metro 4791
High Court Metro 3806 
Guindy Metro 3140 
Thousand Lights Metro 2647 
Government Estate Metro 2620
Washermanpet Metro 2578 
Meenambakkam Metro 2425
LIC Metro  2023 

Corridor-2 Green Line:

Station Name Passenger Flow
Central Metro 7562 
Thirumangalam Metro  4320
Koyambedu Metro  3339
Alandur Metro  3249 
CMBT Metro  2980
Vadapalani Metro  2514 
Ashok Nagar Metro  1878
Egmore Metro  1836 

Recent Progress: 

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi inaugurated on 14.02.2021 the 9 kilometre extension stretch of the Chennai Metro Rail Phase-1. The Prime Minister informed that the project has been completed on schedule despite the pandemic. 

  • The project is in line with the boost to Aatmnirbhar Bharat as the rolling stock has been procured locally and civil construction activities were done by Indian Contractors. 
  • Shri Modi mentioned that in this year’s budget, over Rupees Sixty Three thousand crore have been set aside for a hundred and nineteen kilometres of Phase two of the project. 
  • This is one of the largest projects sanctioned for any city in one-go. 
  • The focus on urban transport will boost ‘Ease of Living’ for citizens here, Shri Modi pointed out.
  • The Prime Minister said that improved connectivity brings convenience. 

Source: CMRL-Press Release | Image Credit: CMRL

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.