Kolkata Metro installs six new AFC-PC Gates at Kavi Subhash Metro Station

Six new AFC-PC gates have been installed at Kavi Subhash Metro station for the benefit of the Metro users. These bi-directional gates will be operational very soon and these will enable commuters to enter/exit smoothly into/from the paid area of Kavi Subhash Metro station premises.

More Details:

  • As Kavi Subhash will be the meeting point of the existing Blue Line and soon-to-be-inaugurated Orange Line, so keeping in mind the expected rush in future these gates have been installed. These modern gates can handle 45 passengers per minute.
  • Passengers after getting down at the DN platform of Kavi Subhash Metro station will be able to punch their Metro Tokens or Smart Cards at these gates and also avail the services of Eastern Railway from New Garia station.
  • For seamless transition of passengers from Blue Line to the Orange Line and vice versa, the existing six AFC-PC gates adjacent to the DN Metro platform, which serve the passengers of Blue Line now, will be dismantled.
  • As a result, commuters will be able to switch over in between Blue Line and Orange Line without punching their Tokens/Smart Cards. Integrated ticketing system will be in place for the convenience of the commuters. By virtue of this system commuters won’t have to purchase separate tickets while interchanging at Kavi Subhash Metro station.

About Kolkata Metro:

  • Metro Railway, Kolkata is the first underground Metro in India. It extends from Dakshineswar to Kavi Subhash Metro station near Garia, on the busy North-South axis of Kolkata over a length of 31.365 Kms. with 26 Stations & 15.70 Kms. of underground section.
  • Based on traffic studies, the Dum Dum – Tollygunge corridor was first selected for implementation and work started on 29th December, 1972. The first metro line in India was completed on 24th October 1984, a stretch of about 3.4 km between Esplanade and Bhowanipur (Netaji Bhavan), thrown open for the Public.
  • The Metro Railway, Kolkata was constructed progressively from 1972 to 2021. In Phase-I, a length of 16.45 Kms from Dum Dum to Tollygunge (Mahanayak Uttam Kumar) completed in 1995 and in Phase-II a length of 5.834 Kms from Mahanayak Uttam Kumar to Kavi Nazrul Metro station is completed in August, 2009.
  • In October 2010, Metro services further extended up to Kavi Subhash, a length of 2.851 Kms. It further extended Dum Dum to Noapara, a length of 2.091 Kms, on 10th July 2013. The last leg was opened on 23rd February 2021 for commercial operation from Noapara to Dakshineswar (4.139 Kms).
  • It extended in the East-West axis from Salt Lake Sector-V to Salt Lake Stadium, covering a length of 5.3 kms with 6 stations on 13th February 2020 and further extended from Salt Lake Stadium to Phoolbagan on 4th October 2020 (1.67 kms). It is further extended from Phoolbagan to Sealdah (2.33 kms) on 11th July 2022.

Source: Kolkata Metro- Press Release | Images Credit: Kolkata Metro