Hon’ble PM Shri Narendra Modi inaugurates two sections of East-West corridor of Bangalore Metro

The Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi dedicated to the nation two stretches of East-West corridor Baiyappanahalli to Krishnarajapuram and Kengeri to Challaghatta of Bangalore Metro.

More Details:

Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) wishes to inform the public regarding opening of passenger services on the two sections between Krishnerajapura to Baiyappanahalli, a distance of 2.10 km with one station in between at Benniganahalli and the other beyond Kengeri to Challaghatta a distance of 2.05 km with effect from 09.10.2023.

The two metro stretches of Bangalore Metro that were formally dedicated to the nation by the Prime Minister, will connect Baiyappanahalli to Krishnarajapuram and Kengeri to Challaghatta. These two metro stretches were opened for public service from 9th October 2023 to provide convenience to the public commuting on this corridor, without waiting for the formal inauguration.

According to Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) with the opening of these two sections, the complete East-West corridor of the Purple Line from Whitefield (Kadugodi) to Challaghatta will be complete with a total length of 43.49 km and with 37 metro stations.

So, the operational network of BMRCL will increase from 69.66 km to 73.81 km with 66 metro stations. Commuters may kindly note that the operational headway on East-West Corridor will be as follows:

  • Whitefield (Kadugodi) to Patandur Agrahara -10 minutes
  • Patandur Agrahara to Mysore Road – 5 minutes
  • Nadaprabhu Kempegowda Station – Majestic to MG Road – 3 mins during morning peak hours.
  • Mysore Road to Challaghatta – 10 minutes 

The last train Ran Whitefield (Kadugodi) departs at 22.95 Hrs and from the rest of the terminal stations at 23.05 Hrs. Revenue services will start at 5.00 am from all the terminal Stations.

Source: BMRCL- Press Release | Images Credit: PIB